CS373: Week 4

Daniel Qu
2 min readFeb 15, 2021

What did you do this past week?
This past week I woke up at 9 am every day for my zoom lectures. I worked on and finished the Collatz project and rewatched Oceans 11 and 12 afterwards. I also worked on a project for my Symbolic project which was very difficult because I had to learn Clojure, a functional programming language built off of Java.

What’s in your way?
I have been doing fairly poorly on the quizzes at the beginning of class. I will try to prepare more for them to improve my grade. I also have some mid-terms coming up in the coming weeks, so I will have to study and prepare for them.

What will you do next week?
I will wait until next Sunday to watch the new Attack on Titan episode. I also will be starting my assignment for my Artificial Intelligence and the assignment for this class when it is released.

If you read it, what did you think of the Pair Programming?
I have read this article several times for almost all of my CS classes that allows working in groups. Although some of the ideas I do not agree with, such as all ideas generated not in the group should not even be considered. Even after seeing it so many times, I still believe that is useful to reread it to see all how much more productive it is.

What was your experience of types?
I had some experience with types in Java, however, it was only with declaring variables and return types. Python is much more lenient with declaring variables. Other than that however, I do not have much experience with types.

What made you happy this week?
This Friday was Lunar New Years and Valentines Day, so I visited some of my friends. We made chocolate pasta, jolly-rancher roses, and chocolate-covered strawberries. It also began to snow on Sunday. :D

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
It is useful to look at the notes before the quiz at the beginning of class to refresh the material from the last class.

--

--